Testimonials

You can also read these testimonials in Mandarin.

  1. David Nabi

    01/15/2019
    I worked with Derek Lim office for my Mother's immigration case and I can tell that I had a very professional service.

    I mostly worked with Penny and Christine and they helped me step by step to complete this case. They basically did all work, I just provided the necessary documents.
    Concerning the price of the service, I found it very reasonable.

    I advise anyone with immigration case to contact Derek Lim Law office.
  2. Aimee Zhu

    01/07/2019
    I had a rear-end car accident. The insurance paid me for car damage in first week, but we can't get agreement on personal injury. I contacted with the Law office of Derek Lim. Ms. Christine is a professional case manager. I'm happy law office of Derick Lim did great job on settling my case.
  3. Roger Yuan

    11/21/2018
    Great Law Firm - Very quick to answer questions, Attentive to our needs and all around super professional. I would recommend this Law firm to my family and friends.
  4. janice cheung

    09/20/2018
    Law office of Derek Lim did an excellent job on settling my personal injury case. I look up their ad online and I called their office about my car accident. Mr. Lim came to my home the next day to obtained all the info. They settled my case promptly. I am very pleased with the settlement and highly recommend Law office of Derek Lim.
  5. Sandy Y.

    San Diego, CA

    7/21/2018
    My mom was in a car accident about 2yrs ago and was referred to Christine Chao at the Law Offices of Derek Lim through a friend. Unfortunately, the person who caused the accident didn't have insurance and my mom suffered injuries that required extensive medical treatment. When my mom first contacted Christine, she was very unclear on the details of how these types of cases were handled so I asked my mom to contact Christine so that I could correspond with her directly.

    Prior to contacting Christine, I called another lawyer to ask for some details about these type of cases. In California, there is a 2yr timeframe from the date of the accident to file your case in relation to all costs, medical treatment, etc that may be part of your claim. When I called Christine, she provided pertinent information and discussed how these types of cases are handled and reviewed. She was very professional, personable and easy to understand. All the information that I received from the other lawyer was consistent with what Christine told me.

    The majority of our correspondence throughout the 2yr timeframe was done through email. Initially, my mom was referred to just chiropractic treatment but after little benefit and worsening symptoms, I checked with Christine to see what were the appropriate next steps. Christine always responded within a business day and was very clear about appropriate steps to take. Christine and her team would touch base periodically and ask for information and updates on my mom's care.

    As the 2yr timeframe came to an end, Christine again followed up and provided her professional guidance on what she felt would be best for the claim/settlement. After reviewing the information and documentation she provided, we agreed. Throughout the entire process, Christine and her team did a great job keeping us up-to-date and checking in.

    I am extremely grateful that my mom was referred to such a great practice to assist with her case. Christine and her team made it easy and pleasant despite such a long and laborious process and although I hope no one has to deal with such situations, if you did, I think Christine and the Offices of Derek Lim would be a great option to assist with your needs.
  6. Michael S.

    Berkeley, CA

    7/15/2018
    We had a personal injury case that required assistance because the driver who hit my family member fled the scene and the insurance company was not cooperative. We needed to get compensation for my family member's injuries and we decided to contact the Law Offices of Derek Lim. They were good at returning our calls promptly and met with us quickly after we contacted them. They pursued the case diligently and got the insurance company to accept liability. They helped us to eventually get a fair settlement without the need for litigation.

    We enjoyed working with Derek and Christine because they were easy to talk to and explained to us the steps needed to resolve the case. They kept us updated with the case progress and were available to answer our questions.

    We are satisfied with the result and highly recommend them to people needing assistance with personal injury matters!
  7. Yin Yin Wu

    05/15/2018
    We had Derek help dealing with a car accident case. Derek and Christine were very responsive. They handle everything with the insurance company and gave clear guidance on all questions that came up. We were very satisfied with the service we received and we highly recommend Derek and Christine if you need help from a professional law office.
  8. Chi L.

    Cupertino, CA

    5/12/2018
    Mr. Lim helped us with our marriage based green card process. Their office always been very prompt in responding to any of our concerns and queries. We went to several law offices but only Mr. Lim was willing to help us out with our complicated immigration issues. Their team have wide array of experience in dealing with any form of application.
    We were glad we found Mr. Lim and highly recommended!
  9. Wanqi C.

    Outer Richmond, San Francisco, CA

    4/10/2018
    I did tons of background research on immigration lawyers in the area before choosing Derek and Christine. They have over a decade of experience in immigration and personal injury law which definitely showed throughout the whole process. They handled our case with great professionalism and skill which I'm sure was a huge factor in why our case was approved. I couldn't be happier with the service that was provided and would definitely recommend them to friends and family!
  10. Derrick B.

    Fremont, CA

    3/30/2018
    After going in circles with a personal injury lawyer, from Southern California, for a year, we decided to go with someone else. We picked the Law Offices of Derek Lim. Not only were they efficient with moving the case along quickly, they provided constant updates, were available for all of our questions, and got us a just settlement in a couple of months!

    Thank you Christine, and the rest of you at The Law Offices of Derek Lim!
  11. kris l.

    San Jose, CA

    11/30/2016
    We had 2 car accident cases which both handled by Christine at Derek Lim. They are very professional, I highly recommend that you give them a call, they will handle everything with the insurance company and hassle free.
  12. A.C. San Francisco, CA

    6/4/2016
    Professional and attentive law office that you can trust. Would recommend their services to help out your immigration cases.
  13. Alan Y Hayward, CA

    6/14/2016
    Very nice law office. They handled my immigration application. I made some additional requirements on my case. They have done them well. Very fast response. High effects on pushing the progress. Good communication. It's easy to get answer from the attorney and their staff. Our boss is not familiar the application, law office did good explanation to our company. Based on that, I can get the documents which application needs. Now I got case approved. They are very helpful!

  14. Gabriel V.

    04/05/2016
    Through my employer, I hired the services of Derek Lim's firm to apply for U.S. Permanent Residence (employment based) and my experience was successful in all ways. Throughout the process, they handled each step of my case with great professional manner; all went very smooth. A couple of times, the USCIS requested additional information and the firm immediately acted in gathering the required documentation and effectively responding. I always felt confident that things would go through well... and they did, my family and I obtained PR in less than the average time. Special thanks to Christine Chao who led my case, she is very professional and knows the ins and outs of the law in the topic. I highly recommend hiring their services.

  15. Ada T.

    07/06/2015
    Hi Mr. Lim, I want to spread the good news to you that my brother has obtained the immigration VISA, see attached. Thank you very much for your great assistance and consistent support along the way.

  16. Weifeng S.

    San Jose, CA

    6/18/2015
    We had a car accident case which is handled by Christine at Derek Lim in 2014-2015. Christine is very professional, and nice to talk with. She gave us many professional suggestions. Their secretary Bonnie and Francis are also very helpful and detailed in handling our case. We are very pleased with our case settlement in the end.
  17. Gary K. Milpitas, CA

    8/5/2014
    I got into a head-on accident with a DUI driver, and the damages were huge and unbelievable. Derek and Christine helped me to pursue the legal processes for damages and personal injuries. All my medical bills, wages lost (including my wife's), and vehicle lost were recovered, and I received a good amount of money for my pain and suffering. I didn't have to do much; just submitted all the paper work then they took care of the rest. It was a painless experience working with them. The whole process was fantastic and effortless. I was very satisfied with the monetary outcome.

  18. A C. San Francisco, CA

    7/25/2014
    We recently worked with Derek and his staff regarding my immigration case. They have been knowledgeable, professional, experienced and helpful. Would definitely recommend them.

  19. Paul W. Portland, OR

    3/25/2014
    I worked with Derek back in '02 on my immigration case. I had a green card but needed citizenship to move my family over quickly. I had a hold on my transition to citizenship due to some legal issues I had at the time. Derek and Christine's legal advice and service were instrumental to my eventual success in obtaining my citizenship in the time frame I aimed for. Their know-how enabled me to win favors in court against the legal issues I had at the time. They also charged me a reasonable rate unlike some other lawyers I had dealt later in my life who tried to milk me for as much as I have in my pocket.
    Because of their professionalism, I also hired Derek for my personal injury case in '04, and I have also been referring my contacts to Derek. I trust that his office will continue to exhibit the same level of professionalism and the in-depth knowledge in helping my associates.

  20. Walton W. Castro Valley, CA

    8/26/2013
    My mom is over 80 years of age and after many years in the U.S., she has decided she wanted to become a U.S. citizen. I needed to find a lawyer who spoke Cantonese since my mom's primary language is Cantonese and she doesn't speak a lot of English. Derek Lim spoke Cantonese and is very nice and cordial and took his time to explain the whole citizenship process to my mom. Derek gave my mom a condensed list of questions for her to prepare for the oral exam. Derek also spent the time to have a practice oral exam to ensure that my mom was prepared. To make a long story short, Derek made the experience very unstressful for my mom and she is now a U.S. citizen.

  21. Stephen L. Richmond, CA

    6/28/2013
    Derek and his team do an excellent job. They are always willing to answer questions and are very professional. They take the time to make sure you understand all steps necessary to complete your case successfully. Their integrity and honesty and many years of experience is why I would recommend them.

  22. Janet H. San Francisco, CA

    6/25/2013
    Derek and Christine helped with my parents' immigration case about a year ago. It was easy for my mom, but was very complicated for my dad due to the communist party waiver, which embassy required him to do. Derek and Christine worked out every details and helped us resolved all unnecessary obstacles. We were very impressed by their professionalism and determination to fight for their clients' rights.

  23. Prashant T. Cupertino, CA

    6/24/2013
    Derek and his group are excellent professionals. Not only are they very thorough in all details required but also very helpful and extremely friendly. When in their office, it seems like being at friend's place rather than some attorney's office.
    Derek is very honest and intelligent person and so is Christine.

  24. Moto "MotoBon" San Francisco, CA

    6/24/2013
    I have been working with Christine at Derek Lim for several years now, she is very professional, easy and nice to talk to, I enjoy working with her a lot. They have years of experience on how to handle immigration case, I would definitely recommend them.

  25. Kathy Z. Outer Richmond, San Francisco, CA

    2/5/2014 This is a long overdue review. I am very pleased with attorney Lim's service. My son and I wouldn't be at where we are today without his help. I came to the U.S. about 6 years ago based on my marriage with "Mr. Abusive" (my ex-husband whom I met through an online dating website). My son came with me. I thought I had found a good husband and a loving father for my son because Mr. Abusive was all good, caring and well-mannered when he lived with us in China. However, it became my worst nightmare soon after my son and I arrived in the U.S. and started living with him. He basically wanted a "maid" instead of a wife. He became very abusive, physically, verbally and mentally toward me and my son. He confided me inside his house. Every day only cooking, doing laundry and cleaning the house for him and his ex-wife who still visited him on a regular basis. He didn't allow me to contact the outside world, refused to put my minor son into school, and he didn't want to file any immigration paperwork to adjust our status in the U.S. I was desperate and had reached the lowest point of my life when someone gave me attorney Lim's contact information and said he may be able to help me and my son, and he did! Attorney Lim filed VAWA (violence against women) immigration paper for me with my son included in the filing. After several rounds of submission of additional documents, the immigration service finally approved my paper and based on that my son and I obtained our greens cards, and eventually our U.S. citizenship! Attorney Lim had helped us from the beginning to the end because I fully trusted him and believed in him. Thank you, attorney Lim!

  26. Yan C.San Francisco, CA

    6/26/2013
    Mr. Lim and his associates helped us with our immigration case. Mr. Lim is very patient and pays attention to details. They showed us their years of experience on immigration cases and thorough knowledge of immigration law. We would like to work with them again.